Law Enforcement Memorial

Wheeling PD Annual Law Enforcement Memorial

On Oct. 1, 1962, President John F. Kennedy signed into law the designation of May 15 each year as National Peace Officer Memorial Day and the calendar week in which that day falls as “National Police Week.”

The week pays tribute to the local, state, and federal peace officers who have died, or who have been disabled, in the line of duty.

In observance of National Police Week, the Wheeling Police Department holds a Law Enforcement Memorial Ceremony at the city's Heritage Port. During the ceremony, a wreath is laid followed by a bell toll to honor those officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice. The event typical has a guest speaker, a 21 gun salute, taps and musical selections from various performers.

Wheeling Police Department Officers Killed in the Line of Duty

  • Ptlm. Joseph P. Brady – Sept. 27, 1868 
  • Ptlm. Joseph Glenn – Jan. 17, 1888
  • Ptlm. Salavia C. “Lafe” Bowen – Dec. 26, 1902
  • Ptlm. Henry Carl Seamon – Feb. 26, 1917
  • Ptlm. Herman Henry Bartels – May 3, 1922
  • Ptlm. Ray Melvin Lazear – Jan. 12, 1925
  • Ptlm. Charles Ulrich “Bud” Brunhaus – Jan. 20, 1926
  • Ptlm. James Robert Wolfe – Jan. 31, 1931
  • Ptlm. James Reiter Bailey – Oct. 11, 1971